Advice on buying new set of irons

vpoms

Reaction score
Hello:

After about 15 years away from golf, I started playing again about 4 month ago.

Some background information on me: I started playing in my mid to late twenties, and played about once a week plus an hour at the range once or twice a week for about 12 years. By my late thirties and early forties I stopped playing completely due to a medical condition and growing children. Now, that my medical condition is resolved and my kids are a lot older, I returned to golf.

I started playing regularly and started taking lessons at GolfTec. I still use my clubs from 1994: Ping Zing 2, stiff graphite shafts, orange dots (2 degrees flat)

I decided that it is time for the new clubs and had a club fitting at Golftec today. After all the measurements, both static and measurements of my swing speed, ball striking and other measurments, GolfTec computer and my coach recommended several clubs, all clubs were recommended in standard length and lie, and regular shaft flex. The only deviation from regular clubs was recommendation to make my grips 1/32 thicker. I can almost just buy a set off the rack if I don't want to get slightly thicker grips.

I decided to try the clubs that were recommended: Ping G30 regular graphite shaft, Big Bertha regular graphite shafts and Mizuno JPX EZ irons with regular graphite shafts. Here is the testing data: (average of five good hits, mishits were eliminated

ClubHead SpeadBall SpeedTotal DistanceCarry DistanceLaunch AngleBack Spin
1994 Ping Zing 2 6 iron my original club
2015 Big Bertha 7 iron
2014 Mizuno JPX EZ 6 iron
2014 Ping G30 6 iron

Mizuno had a larger dispersion and I didn't like the feel of the club during the swing, That means that Ping G30 is the best club for me.

When we finished, my regular coach had a puzzled look on his face. He decided to have me hit one more club. He brought another club and had me hit it five times without telling me what the club was.