nickyt17

Reaction score
Hey guys, so I've been reading the site for the while but just recently signed up. I'm kinda new to golf. I played a little in high school, stopped for college and just got back into it last year more consistently.

So my question is what do you think is a good ball for a beginner to start out with. Lately I've just been paying friends for one or two of theirs so i could try out as many kinds as possible. I hit fairly long (280 drives) but not very accurate. Where should I begin? I don't want to end up buying 40$ dozens only to find out they're way too advanced. Any help is greatly appreciated

I would focus on your swing first and not worry about what type of balls you play. Focus on getting down a consistent swing that works for you. Once you have that down, I would then focus on balls and equipment. At least thats what I did. I just last year started focusing on which balls to use and that has helped improve but when you are starting out, you are going to lose alot of balls. Rather it be cheap balls than expensive ones.

check out the bridgestone e series. Surely they will have something that fits your game.

I went through a similar process last year and just went through Titleist lower end balls, DT solo, then the NXT and then the NXT Tour but from being on here I have discovered far more information about golf balls than is probably healthy and just think you need to try a few and see what feels good. If you're spraying balls off the drive then you probably want a ball with lower side spin

Do a quick Google search for "polara Thehackersparadise", youll be amazed at what you find!

If you're not hitting very accurately yet, you have to consider your playing partners and the groups playing behind you. You don't want to be tying them up for 10 minutes cause you hit into the crap and don't want to lose a $4 ball. One good option is used balls, gives you the opportunity to try a bunch and see which you like best.