Caddy tipping/etiquette

FrancisD

Reaction score
Handicap
I'm going to be playing a course where caddies are required for the first time. What does one usually tip a caddy? We are playing with a member so I guess I should ask him when we get there. Also anyone have any etiquette tips? I don't want to look like more of an idiot out there then usual lol.

I think a lot of it tends to be tied to the cost of the club. When I caddied (early 90's) most tips were in the 10-20 range with really high tips being 40-50

A quick search suggested 50% of the caddie fee. If you are a guest of your friend, maybe he could tell you what the fee is. I have no experience here though.

J.

I'm going to be playing a course where caddies are required for the first time. What does one usually tip a caddy? We are playing with a member so I guess I should ask him when we get there. Also anyone have any etiquette tips? I don't want to look like more of an idiot out there then usual lol.

2 easy ways to figure out tipping: either ask the member that you are playing with, or ask the head pro in the pro shop or someone else in there about the usual tipping at that facility.

One other thing: tipping can be different if your caddie is carrying one bag or two bags. Say that your caddie is carrying two bags, your bag and the member's bag. You could show your appreciation for the invite by covering the tip for that caddie so that your member doesn't have to pay.

For a caddie that is solely tending your bag, $100.

Any tips for playing with a caddy? First thing I thought of was taking my stand bag and going as light as possible. Poor guy is in for a long day with me lol. Maybe I should tell him to keep a few balls in his pocket so I don't "lose" any?

2 easy ways to figure out tipping: either ask the member that you are playing with, or ask the head pro in the pro shop or someone else in there about the usual tipping at that facility.