Did you go to school for your career or have a huge career change?

pumbaa

Need more golf
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
Wondering how everyone ended up in their careers?

I work in Syndicated Corp Finance for Private Equity and Asset Backed Finance, have worked in all aspects of the Syndicated Loan world from loan trading to risk/controls, agency and member side servicing, and projects. Before I got into the banking world I was a pastry chef and before that worked on the hot food side all the way to exec sous chef. Can go into more details if anyone cares. Got into banking because I got married and had a child and the culinary industry is brutal on family life. I watched my Exec Chef almost miss his daughter being born on a busy Saturday night, when my son was born my wife had an emergency C Section and I was getting calls the day after the surgery on when I was coming back because my pastry cook couldn't keep up with volume. That is when I decided to leave.

@JB or @GolferGal can you move this to offtopic I didnt mean to put this in the food section.

Fell into my career. Was working in banking through college and kept getting promoted and was a commercial lender at age 21. I went to college for business management and planned on starting a real estate management company. The allure of a steady paycheck, job level well beyond my age and the 2008 banking crisis during that time slowed my entrepreneurial ambitions. In retrospect would of made bank if I stuck to my plans but my life is great so need to fret about it.