Interlock vs Overlap Grip

jvbart

2022 Quest Cup with Edel Golf
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
I'm currently using an overlap grip which is all I have ever tried. Most of what I read says grip style shouldn't matter and you should go with whatever feels most comfortable. I was wondering if anyone has ever seen hard data of one style performing better than the other (ie; percent of pros playing one grip, trackman data for one vs the other over multiple players). Also does one style help to correct a certain swing error or fit a certain swing type? My current miss is a slice and wondering if an interlocking grip could help? I have heard a stronger grip can help with a driver slice.

I'll start out suggesting a lesson from a person qualified to teach golf.

That is not me. I'm not a pro. The following is only what I have experienced myself and have seen on tv, youtube, in magazines, and heresay. I'm a left handed golfer. Everything below pertains to my right hand. If you're right handed, substitute your left hand.

The other day I was watching the Champions tour (I think it was that... maybe it was the Asian tour, LPGA Diamond tour, or PGA...) anyway, the announcers were talking about grip strength for players and their swing. Not how tightly they held the club but how their hands were positioned on the grip. (hope that makes sense)