Working at a course -advice

Buckjob

My Friend's Call Me Drew
Reaction score
Handicap
Well it looks like I got hired part time at a golf course. I'm not sure how it will work with my shift work but I'm pretty excited none the less. I have never worked at a course before and I gotta say I'm a little nervous about it. I would pretty much be doing a little bit of everything from what the guy was saying at my interview. Starter/ranger/ player assistant / cleaning clubs on 18 / moving and cleaning carts / picking balls from the range. So it sounds like I'll be a jack of all trades on the course. I know a few people here work or have worked on courses so I was just curious if any of you had any advice or things you learned that helped you along the way. I know a lot about the game but not that much about the business. If we could keep the wearing long sleeves advice to a minimum I'd appreciate it. I did interview with short sleeves.

Well it looks like I got hired part time at a golf course. I'm not sure how it will work with my shift work but I'm pretty excited none the less. I have never worked at a course before and I gotta say I'm a little nervous about it. I would pretty much be doing a little bit of everything from what the guy was saying at my interview. Starter/ranger/ player assistant / cleaning clubs on 18 / moving and cleaning carts / picking balls from the range. So it sounds like I'll be a jack of all trades on the course. I know a few people here work or have worked on courses so I was just curious if any of you had any advice or things you learned that helped you along the way. I know a lot about the game but not that much about the business. If we could keep the wearing long sleeves advice to a minimum I'd appreciate it. I did interview with short sleeves.
Good on you Buck! The best approach I was given is to treat the course, facility and players like you want it to be treated. A little bit of honey goes a long ways.

Which course?