Golf Illustrated OUTED

seems a bit shady to me. Keeping the club to GIVE away is good customer focussed marketing. SELLING the clubs is a bit low to me....presumably though it would just be one club, not a continuous giving of clubs to sell indefinately.

also, whilst i respect bstoners views tremendously, i cannot agree with what he said. To me it is clear as night and day that money paid to some mags (perhaps ones that do "hot lists"), does result in better points. This may not be the fault of the golf company, but it does seem to happen. I know that golf is often about feel, but imo titleist has not produced a product worthy of going near other than to test since i started playing (1.5 years) apart from the Pro V1...and even that has better competitors. Yet Acushnet products score extremely highly. Like i say, i accept some people will think titleist is awesome....but when zero (yes zero) out of the 10 or so golfers i play with regularly rate titleist - most are 5 to 15 handicappers.....percentages say something is up with some magazines ratings.

Again, that is not the companies fault though i guess.
(went on a little rant there!! sorry bout that)

OK I am not a Titleist apologist by any stretch of the imagination but I think you are way off here. While I agree none of their Drivers, Fairway Woods, Hybrids have piqued the interest of that of the people I play a lot they do make some very good equipment. My friends and I are even in their "wheelhouse" so to speak of catering towards the better players, but their drivers etc have not been anything worth looking at. However, the AP1 and AP2 irons are some of the best irons around. I just received a set of AP2's and while I have only hit them once they are far and away some of the best hitting/feeling/looking players cavity forgiving blade category irons I have put my hands on. With the access I have to equipment that is saying a lot.