JAugusta

Reaction score
Handicap
Anyone game the JPX 825's? Are they considered "GI's" or "SGI's"

I had the chance to demo the JPX 825's and AP1 712's, both of which are solid irons. Does anyone have a preference?

Thanks

Like the 800s, they cover multiple areas. The 800s had an HD option that were considered SGI, the standard 800s are GI and the 800 pros are a little more closer to blades.

I've been playing the 800s for over a year and tried the 825s and didn't notice enough difference to warrant considering a switch but they were pretty nice.

I've been playing the 825's for a few months. They are great irons and personally, I've had the best irons shots I've ever had with these irons. I'd say they're GI instead of SGI, because I don't think they're forgiving enough as something like the Adams OS series, etc. Also, when I was fit into them, I wanted a set that I could grow into a little bit and the fitter recommended these for that purpose among others.

I think the 825s are SGI and the 825 Pros are GI. The Titleist AP1s are closer to the 825 Pros, look at the sole.

All I know is the JPX825 pro's are a nice club. Tried them out when I was looking for new irons this year. It came down to the i20, J40's, and the JPX825 pro's. I really liked how they felt. The JPX825 was a good club too, but I thought the 3 others were much better performing clubs.

I think the 825s are SGI and the 825 Pros are GI. The Titleist AP1s are closer to the 825 Pros, look at the sole.

Disagree. IMO, the 825s are GI as are the AP1s and the AP2s are equal to 825 Pros. Regardless, I've gamed the 800s for awhile now and still love them. Can't go wrong with the 825s.

Don't let the fact that a club is classified as game improvement or super game improvement deter you from trying them. Play what you hit well, not what you think you can hit well.