Callaway Apex Pro Irons Review Thread

Thanks Penglynns! Lol, I'm far from a PGA pro now too :). I got out of the business in 1998 so I barely remember it now! I've played for fun only for the last 12 or so years, but a new job has me playing more with customers and a crazy round(44 on the front, 32 on the back nine) sparked my competitive juices recently. If you can hit the R9 TP I honestly believe you will be blown away by the Apex Pros. To me, the regular version, at least in the six iron, was only a hair more forgiving. And it was only more forgiving on thin hits. That being said, the consistency of the Pro version is off the charts good, along with superior feel/sound. Good luck demoing them, stores in my area got the demos in yesterday so they should be easier to find. Also test the new XHot 2 woods and hybrids, they are impressive as well.
Good luck!

There wasn't a huge difference in forgiveness for me either between the two but my miss is often on the thin side, so going with a combo set worked for me.

My miss is much more likely to be fat or a little heel/toe - how do they perform on those?

There wasn't a huge difference in forgiveness for me either between the two but my miss is often on the thin side, so going with a combo set worked for me.

That makes sense, the regular Apex did cover thin hits better. I'm getting Apex Pro 3-pw because that's the set make up my retailer sells. I currently play 4-pw so I'm guessing I'll be using a hybrid for the 3 but won't know until I hit the Apex Pro. I think a combo set with the right shafts could be a great option!

My miss is much more likely to be fat or a little heel/toe - how do they perform on those?