Tips on the Release

-CRW-

Reaction score
I have been playing for roughly 8 months and have went from hitting slices to fades or pretty straight shots with my irons (still working on intermittent slices with t he driver). I have consistency issues, but started new lessons with a pro with a lengthy resume and really helped with consistency. Mainly by shortening my back swing, changing my grip slightly, and by using high speed video to show me what I'm really doing during a swing.

That being said, the pro decided that now was time to improve my release. For the first time in 8 months I was hooking the ball. The problem now is that I over-do the hand rotation during the release and cause the pull or hook depending on the swing. Even when I slow my swing down and dramatically shorten it I find myself hitting a 10-15 yard pull with little to no draw to it.

I honestly feel like I did when I started. I got to where I was consistently shooting just under 100 at my home course and shot a 115 last Saturday after the release lesson that previous Thursday. It's looking like it will rain on my planned lesson day this week so I wanted to find out if anyone had any tips or webpages/videos that really helped them understand the release or the feeling of the release. I would like to get my swing/shots more under control before the next lesson. I depending on scheduling and weather, I may have 5 or more range trips between today and my next lesson to work on it.

Thanks ahead for any suggestions.

Tips on the Release

I'm not a big fan of active hands, and would never join the "flip it" camp as timing will always be a problem. I hit it a long way with a relatively early release and find my miss to the right is caused by turning my hips too quickly and getting ahead of my hands.

You may need to find a different instructor if this one can't fix the problem he just induced.