Early Extension problems.

beeDoubleU

Reaction score
Handicap
Hi,

Does anyone have any advice on: swing thoughts, drills, or training aids - to help with early extension. I've been struggling with this for about two years, and I don't seem to make any progress.
I've been playing for about 20 years, I'm about a 14 handicap, hit my driver about 220-230 yds, 6 iron 150 yds.
I've tried the drill where you put a chair behind you and lean against it, and I've tried placing a shaft in the ground in front of my right knee to avoid hitting it on the downswing.
So far, nothing seems to help.
Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

The drills you are working on are not going to stop an early release or cast. You need to hold the angle created by the club and the right arm until it reaches your right hip and then you release the club.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xo_Rhuczgj4

This video may be of assistance

The drills you are working on are not going to stop an early release or cast. You need to hold the angle created by the club and the right arm until it reaches your right hip and then you release the club.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xo_Rhuczgj4

This video may be of assistance

Thanks Tadashi! I'll try this next time I go to the range.

Other good tips specific to Early Extension here

Other good tips specific to Early Extension here

Thanks ward, the video by monte makes perfect sense to me.

Sent from my LG-MS770 using Tapatalk

The video from monte would not be a direction I'd guide anyone, at least via a YouTube video. Sitting into your heals can only bring issues to the table. Trevino had a homemade swing that was his own just as Bubba does. Neither of which can be taught. They are both 100% feel.

Love that second video.