Easy Question: Southwest or Chase Credit Card

Stribs

Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
First off, I'm a newbie to credit cards!

Second, I have a credit card through my bank (Bank of America) that I NEVER use. My wife and I pay for everything with cash but I have skimmed through some pages here on THP about earning free trips and all with the Southwest Airlines Rapid Rewards Premier Card and the Chase Sapphire Preferred Card and I'd like to take advantage of theses benefits.

I mean why not just put our expenses on one of these cards and pay the card off at the end of the month...it's all getting paid regardless of how we do it.

I just need to know which one is better! Please don't get all technical on me as you'll cause some major confusion to me...lol.

It really depends. If you fly primarily SW, the card is solid and gives you a great bonus for signing up (assuming you meet the spend). The Chase SP, is a wonderful card, but with many of the programs devaluing, unless you are putting your monthly expenses on it, and using it as a primary source, the points are not worth as much as they were a bit ago. But they are good anywhere, which is nice.

Based on your scenario, the SP could be a great option for you. Its a solid card and has wonderful features.

I don't know about the SP card, but my wife and I use the chase freedom card exactly how you described and it works great. You can redeem the points for cash money, so that's been nice instead of having to get gift cards or other items at a lower conversion rate.

It really depends. If you fly primarily SW, the card is solid and gives you a great bonus for signing up (assuming you meet the spend). The Chase SP, is a wonderful card, but with many of the programs devaluing, unless you are putting your monthly expenses on it, and using it as a primary source, the points are not worth as much as they were a bit ago. But they are good anywhere, which is nice.