Driver suggestions for a new golfer (lefty)

poisondonut

Reaction score
Handicap
Hi All,
I started playing golf last year at a par 3 9 hole course that was very short so only irons were required. Now that I've started playing longer courses, I've been using a 10 degree hand me down driver. Unfortunately last Sunday the driver head flew off the shaft. Oh well, it was very old.

I'm looking to buy a new driver, but I honestly have no clue what that old driver was except that it was a deep driver, but no info on the shaft. I was able to crush a few hits quite nicely, got probably upwards of 280 yards on very good hits. My irons are steel shaft ping eye 2's, I have no idea if this can help with what driver to go after.

I really want to stick to something affordable but good quality ( say $80 or less, I'm on a budget). Used would be okay as well. Any off the top of your head suggestions for a lefty?

When I was hitting with the old driver at 10 degrees, I got pretty good ball flight, and only when I struck poorly did I shoot line drive type shots.

Thanks in advance.

other stats: 5'10, male, 28 years old, keep in good shape and quite strong.

with that budget, you have fewer options... and it also takes any sort of fitting out of the equation. I think many folks here would agree that the amp cell is a great beginner's driver (and not just for beginners, either). They can be had for around $80 used if you look around.

what is it you are after distance or keeping it straight if you are looking for a cheaper driver try to find a nike sumo2 square. My first driver helped me keep straight, it also helped my 3 mates when they started off as well. Prob get one for £40-50

The Clevleand Classic XL is down that low already and you would have a great shaft that is valued more than that.

You may be able to snag a Callaway X-Hot Driver for $80 used, that provides a pretty good mix of forgiveness and performance.