Trying to Break 100

Status
Not open for further replies.
Trying to get under 100. Bit of a long ways off still. I've only played 10 rounds total since I started playing late last year. Played 2, 9 hole outings in the past week and shot 60 and 59 respectively. The week before I played 18 holes and shot 124 (YIKES). I have found that I really need to put the driver away and stick to my 4 wood off the tee for now, I've gotten too many penalty strokes for bad drives. In addition, my putting needs some serious improvement. I tend to overshoot and start playing tennis with the ball around the whole which really adds to my scores.

On a positive note, I had two birdie chances today, both of which I squandered lol.

Sounds like you've got a great mindset. Best of luck, you'll get there..

Thanks! I'm trying to be honest with myself when I'm playing and opt for more conservative shots for now. The area where I DEFINITELY have improve is my mid-irons (GW-6 iron) and my chipping. I have my iron distances down really well and have hit myself out of some really crappy drives. Quite frankly I'm at the point where I need some lessons for my drives, and just need to get out more and play. I feel like every time I have been out, I have improved a bit, which is always a good thing.

Thanks! I'm trying to be honest with myself when I'm playing and opt for more conservative shots for now. The area where I DEFINITELY have improve is my mid-irons (GW-6 iron) and my chipping. I have my iron distances down really well and have hit myself out of some really crappy drives. Quite frankly I'm at the point where I need some lessons for my drives, and just need to get out more and play. I feel like every time I have been out, I have improved a bit, which is always a good thing.
Yep, it sounds like it's going in the right direction.
Best wishes with the lessons, I need some with my short game which is killing me at the moment..
wish I could chip and putt like Steve Stricker. Lol