hole_in_one

Reaction score
Handicap
CONGU 14.1
Hi I am currently looking for a new set of irons that offer me workability and forgiveness. I am 18 handicap that is aiming to get down to about 10-12 by the end of the year and am a solid ball striker. The current sets I am looking at are Mizuno MP54s, Titleist AP2s and Callaway X Forged. Hopefully this should tell you the sort of clubs I am interested in and also my price range. Eventually I will hit some irons and see which ones I hit the best, but wondered if you guys have any other suggestions of clubs for me and/or the experience you have with the any of the irons I mentioned? Thanks.

All 3 of those are great irons and you can't go wrong with any of them.

I have zero experience with the irons you mentioned are on your radar, but it looks like you're going after some players irons. Are you dead set on the something that attracts you to those types of irons? There's tons of options out there with tremendous forgiveness. SpeedBlades/Rocketbladez, XHot, AP1, and Amp Cell are some of the more forgiving options of last year lines in my experiences that can be had pretty cheap. If you really want a players look packed with forgiveness to help the higher handicap in you, look at the J40 DPCs. A tremendous set of irons and tons of more options out there.

+1 for the J40 DPC

Also, the Mizuno JPX series cavity back forged sets have some forgiveness to them.

+1 for the J40 DPC

Also, the Mizuno JPX series cavity back forged sets have some forgiveness to them.

Those are both good choices you might also look at the SLDR an TM CB

2014 Taylormade CB's...amazing irons!!!

I'm not too familiar with the irons you listed, but if you are looking for workability and forgiveness, I would suggest looking at the Callaway Apex irons or like the others have said, Bridgestone J40 DPCs. On top of the workability and forgiveness they both provide, they look and feel great.