The Driver. Most forgiving yet hardest to hit? or are there other reasons?

I haven't tried out any of my golf clubs before buying online but I love my Cleveland Classic 270 driver. I just learn to love what I buy off the internet after doing much research about the club and getting a bargain as well helps. I'm very new to the sport but I'm learning not to take it so seriously like many do. I haven't kept score yet and don't plan on it in the near future. I've got plenty to learn as a newbie but I'm having fun along the way just getting out there and playing. Shaft length and all the little details to become better are very fine tunes I don't understand yet but I'm only concerned with hitting the ball straight and long. My belief is that it really doesn't matter the club/shaft as much as it is the person swinging the club. It's easier for me to hit the driver than it is my irons. At least my starter irons.

So if that's the case why do most manufactures make the drivers longer?? Is it because you can cut it down to whatever you want or they think you can can hit longer distances with a longer driver?

One thing is that OEMs have come a long way in making more of the face function more like the sweet spot. So dead-center precision isn't as necessary as it used to be to produce favorable results, as I understand it. Thus, the OEMs feel the shaft can be longer and thereby faster.

As to why the driver can be both the most forgiving due to its construction while still being the hardest to hit, I think the combination of an excess of tweaks a player makes to his address/swing when hitting driver and tension that creeps into the swing causes people to simply swing differently. Always interesting to hear people say they've got a totally different shot shape with their driver than with the rest of their bag, including their fairway woods.