"Golf's biggest threat" -- interesting read

Not mentioned is the information you get from Golfnow. You can see reviews especially if you havent played a course before. Big help in my book and super easy to book a tee time at your desk.

Most places here don't have a problem selling tee times, so you see similar prices on GN more often than not. Off-peak hours are different of course, but those are discounted at the course as well. One pro actually told me not to call and book b/c the full rate only applies to phone call tee times and the course's website (run by Golf18 I believe) and GN are cheaper. Still waiting for those $.99 tee times to appear.

I'm new to golf and use golfnow almost religiously. I live in Atlanta and basically play where I can get a good deal. I play most of my rounds <$30. I try to kick in a few dollars for range time and food/drinks.

Either golf evolves or it will be left behind. Golfnow or some similar service will always be around. This is how we consume now. Crowd sourced reviews and consolidated information for booking.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Interesting read, thanks for sharing.

I will say that, as some have mentioned, attitude of the employees at the course probably takes some blame. I almost expect the unfriendly pro shop employees when I go to a course. They act as if they are doing you a favor in letting you pay only $40-$50 to play on their course.

No, online booking and discounting are not hurting golf courses in a meaningful way. It's not a 100% benefit, but the logic is simple: filling times that would otherwise go empty is in the best interest of the golf course. It's not just green fees--it's range balls, it's food and beverage revenue, it's building loyalty with a customer base by getting them onto your property and providing an experience for them.