Coaching Opportunity...

Deaver

Reaction score
Handicap
Swing
So I have been playing golf, on and off, since the late 90's. I haven't attempted to really play golf until about 2 or 3 years ago. I know you folks struggle to understand, but I love it :drinks:. I am a new teacher in a very small school district and they are in need of a girls golf coach. The guys coach is new too, he's a new ast basketball coach that was quasi forced to coach golf. I've been told the AD would like to speak with me because he knows I play. While I love the game, I'm a high handicapper still with no idea how to coach golf. So I guess my question would be, 1. should I take it/volunteer to coach? 2. If so, where would I even begin? I'm afraid if they don't have a coach they'll just cancel to golf program all together. I commute to my campus everyday, 45 minutes each way.

I couldn't find another post similar to this so I hope I'm not jamming the board nor placing this in the wrong spot.

I'm new to golf and couldn't imagine being a coach when I feel I still have so much I need to learn myself. That said, having someone who plays and loves the game is better than getting stuck with someone who doesn't care at all but just wants the extra pay or even worse yet, shutting down the program altogether.

If you're willing to put in the work I'd bet you would be better than you give yourself credit for, but only you would know if you are willing to invest the time.

Good luck either way!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I assume this is high school and I guess since you're in Texas football is the big sport. Girls golf is more or less an afterthought and they have it because Title IX says they have to have it because there are girls that want it. The rules say it has to have a coach. You're it.