Wedges. Are they really necessary?

NEPA_Lefty

Reaction score
Handicap
I've been golfing since 1992 and only ever had a PW. A sand wedge would be nice, but I rarely need one. But my question is more about a lob/approach/whatever-you-want-to-call-it wedge. I've never used one and always felt good using a PW from 110 yards on in. Playing with my buddy the other day, he asked why I didn't have one, but yet he was impressed with the 2 shots I had with the PW where a different wedge would have been used.

Is it worth learning a different club, even though I'm comfortable with what I've used for 30 years?

I have 4 different wedges, so obviously I'm a fan. I am not afraid to take a full swing with a wedge so mostly what I choose depends on distance from the pin. Of course, loft is probably the biggest issue if you are only carrying a PW. There are definitely times when a flop shot has a better chance for success if you can't risk a ball rolling past the pin and off the green, or there's an obstacle in front of the hole that prevents bumping and running it. I do have friends that only use a PW or 9 iron though inside 100 yds and who are incredibly good with it. I think the advantage being, if you use one 'wedge' constantly, it's only natural that you're going to get pretty consistent with it. I think having at least one highly lofted wedge so you can pull off a flop shot if you need to is ideal.

Yeah, probably.

Using a traditional wedge for all that work is a skill, and probably a lost one for most these days, but you're definitely making some shots harder than they need to be by not having any others.

"Learning" to use a wedge should be no different than when you had to 'learn' to use your 9 iron. It's just a different loft.

In fact, with some wedges coming in at say, 42 or 43*, you may have a PW at 47* that some would call an approach wedge. It's all just a number designed to produce a certain yardage with your swing.