How long did it take you to break 100?

David7

Reaction score
Handicap
I’m getting close, last year I ended with rounds between 106-108 when I was doing my best. Typically play nine holes once a week and score around 53-54. New York player so long off seasons.

This will be my third season and I started thinking, am I taking longer than normal? I know I’m a fast player so that’s not an issue at least.

I saw some comments on Facebook (I know) disparaging 25 handicaps and people saying condescendingly that they should take lessons, others that they should pick up a different sport.

I wish I was a 25 handicap to be honest.

I am a beginner. Lesson next month. Man, I would be okay with scoring 110-120 for a long time. I could only dream of the low 100's. You will get there.

I’m getting close, last year I ended with rounds between 106-108 when I was doing my best. Typically play nine holes once a week and score around 53-54. New York player so long off seasons.

This will be my third season and I started thinking, am I taking longer than normal? I know I’m a fast player so that’s not an issue at least.

I saw some comments on Facebook (I know) disparaging 25 handicaps and people saying condescendingly that they should take lessons, others that they should pick up a different sport.

Keyboard warriors suck, ignore them. It's easy to be a hero online, where you don't have to back your s**t up.

It took me several years to break 100, but don't compare yourself to anybody else. We all have different levels of talent/athletic ability, and will also progress at different paces according to other variables (how much we practice/play, etc.). If I play 18 holes a week and don't spend any time practicing, I'm lucky to hold on to what I have; any less than that and rust starts setting in. I know other guys who play once or twice a year and can blow the dust off their clubs and shoot in the 80s/90s.