Callaway X-18-are new irons much better?

MacTS

Reaction score
Handicap
Hi,

I am rather new to the game and have played since last summer. I bought a set from a friend at work this autumn and the irons were Callaway X-18. I can not say that I am not satisfied with the clubs...but I can´t seem to stop thinking about if a newer set of irons would help my game much? Of course I understand that the best way is to test as many clubs as possible, but the closest big shop which have great discounts on last years clubs is quite far away and I am not sure if it is worth the trip to test new clubs?

I am looking at max forgiveness (and distance) and I have had my eyes on Baffler XL and Altitudes. Other suggestions would be very helpful as well. I can´t justify the cost of this years clubs, so I am mainly interested in clubs maybe 1-3 years old.

Your story is exactly like mine. I purchased a used set of X-18's a couple of years ago when I started golfing. I live several hours away from a big shop, as well. Can anyone compare these irons to newer super improvement types?

No club is going to swing itself. As a beginner I think most of us got a set a few old to mitigate the cost of getting into this pricey game and finding out maybe it isnt as fun as it looks. As your swing begin to become more consitant you will find that you might need help in some aspect that a new club could ASSIST you in. My point is those X-18's are great clubs and if it were me I would use them with confidence. New gear will offer slighty more forgiveness and you have the abilty to have them fit to your swing and body type.