Put my clubs onto a swingweight scale for the first time: Results inside!

pingman222

Reaction score
Handicap
Slow Play
So i've always been a tinkerer with my clubs, and learned to do as much of my own work as possible. Started with regripping, then re-shafting, shaft pulling etc etc and i like to think that i'm an ok hobbyist club builder.

However, there was one thing i would never do and that was check swingweights. For the most part i always just figured if the club feels good, who cares what the swingweight is (and i still abide by this too). However, i got a swingweight scale, the cheap $60 balance beam one and decided to throw my set on there out of curiosity. This all started as last season and early this year i played my driver at 44.5", it was a 6M3 that was cut down. I assume this thing was VERY light at the short length, and i struggled mightily with it. I replaced it with a Fuji 757 speeder Evo TS @ 45.5" and even with the added length im way more in control and hitting the best drives i've had in a long time. It made me start thinking that perhaps the swingweight is back up into my "optimal" range and maybe that's making the difference.

So here were the results from my set:

Driver - D3.5
4W - D1
3Hy - C8
4i - D4
5i - D2.5
6i - D2.5
7i - D2.5
8i - D1
9i - D0.5
W - D1
52 - D1
58 - D2

I'm no expert with regards to swingweight, and i know that it isn't the end all-tell all of fitting parameters, but can anyone help me diagnose my set here and let me know if there is anything i need to address?

First thing that jumps out, and even before i did the weighing, i always thought i struggled a little with the Hybrid, but the 3Hy at C8 is something i'll be looking to fix a little here. I'm willing to throw some lead tape on it or onto the port screw of my I25 and get it into that D1-D2 range. I would think that could maybe help that club get a little more consistent.