Random, slow playing partners. What to do?

skeets

Reaction score
Handicap
Maybe this has been covered but couldn't think of way to search for it. Wife and I played yesterday. We were paired with 2 brothers. Nice guys, not total newbies but soooo slooow. They would be on opposite sides of the fairway but would sit in the cart while one hit then would drive over to the other ball and start picking clubs, taking practice swings, etc. The ranger came at the 8th hole to urge us along. They just sped up their routine slightly but still it was painful. Thank goodness (?) we caught a threesome that was worse so I felt less guilty. Tried to suggest they alter their routine but they wouldn't follow through. We thought about leaving them and trying to play through the threesome but that felt awkward. For some reason the ranger came to me to complain (I guess because I was the one out side of the cart ready to hit). I wanted to tell him the starter paired us with these snails, its not our fault, etc. but what would that have accomplished? What else could have been done?

Playing with slow people, sometimes all you can do is grin and bear it. One of the guys I play with every weekday has a very deliberate pre-shot routine. He takes a specific number of slow waggles behind the ball, then astride the ball, then over the ball before he hits. Drives me crazy as I step up to the ball, one practice swing and fire away. The other guy I play with regularly I don't think can see/follow the ball much more than 150 yards and the two others of us spend an inordinate amount of time helping him look for his ball in the event that we didn't pay particular attention to him when he hit it. He can be 20 yards from where the ball is looking for it.

Some days the patience is better than others. :)