Realized I never formally introduced myself!

PingEye2Man

Reaction score
Handicap
17ish
Hello to all,

Earliest personal golf memory, 12 year old kid, losing his grip on his dad’s 9 Iron and watching it smash thru my sisters’ bedroom window while they were still asleep! After which, left the sport to focus on my baseball! Lol! After dabbling again and being able to consistently hold onto the clubs, the self-taught tour hopeful 16 year old me, decided that I should try out for the Goshen High School, in Ohio, golf team my junior year! After much time “playing” the opposite 9 of the starters, “playing” meant some actual golf, but also a generous amount of finding balls in the O’Bannon Creek Country Club’s tree lined fairways! I finally got to shoot in my first match, due to the best golfer having his appendix burst on that very course and unable to answer the bell! In retrospect, I to this day wonder if the coach pleaded to him to still try to swing after his surgery, in lieu of me playing! However, I went to the King’s Mill course with the swagger of Trevino, excited to be part of the team! It was there that I was teamed up with the coaches foursome with my opponent! I truly do not remember almost all of the round, was it the excitement of the day, or the confusion of the play, who knows, but I do remember the Last hole, we made it to the green, he was about 2-3 feet from the cup, I was much further, possibly 20-30...both were tied, and sitting even 4 on the green. I sunk the putt for my 5, he missed his and I won! That was my last match so it wrapped up my undefeated High School career at 1-0! Didn’t play my Senior year in spite of my previous success!

Took golf more seriously after graduation...

Had a dominant run golfing in Blue Cross/Blue Shield, now Anthem’s golf league for a few years in the mid-late 80s!