The Perfectly Elusive Perfect Burger

Boone

Reaction score
I know there a number of burger threads, but I’m looking for specific expertise

I love me a great burger. I’m a pretty skilled cook, especially when it comes to the grill and smoker. But I have never been able to do a great burger. Don’t get me wrong, even a ‘bad burger’ is still pretty damn good, but...

Here’s my issue.I don’t buy pre-made, pre-formed burgers, but hand form my own. The challenge I have run into is figuring out how not to compact the patty as I form it. Mine always come out much more dense than I want. When I eat at a top burger place, the meat in their burgers is very loosely packed and you can still see individual strands of ground beef in them. It’s like a totally different product.

I don’t know if it’s the quality of beef, how they ‘form’ their burgers, or how they are prepared.

My burgers also tend to end up in a rounded ball shape. I’ve seen and tried tricks like making an ‘indent’ in the burger before cooking - but doesn’t seem to keep it from happening.

I need those of you who make a great burger to share your most closely guarded burger secrets :)

I much prefer a "smash" burger, because I think it gets a much better crust...

If I am going "all out" I will grind my own meat with our Kitchenaid, but otherwise, just buy some quality ground beef, loosely form, and then smash the burger down on the cast iron and it cooks super fast, and with a really really nice crust.

Alot depends on the fat content of the burger, higher fat content means it melts off and will leave a looser burger. I have my cows ground at 95% lean so very little fat. For lean meat, the less smashing and smooshing the better.

90/10 beef, or ground sirloin to start. Don’t add a bunch of stuff and keep it simple - salt and pepper.