What’s more impressive... a hole in one or bowling a perfect game?

Which one is more impressive?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Thrillbilly Jim

No Diddy! No Doubt!
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
A Lotter
A friend of mine is really into bowling. He’s a good bowler, but his son is really good! His son, Jake, bowled a 300 last night in league play. This was his 6th perfect game. It got me thinking which is a more impressive feat? I googled it and the odds of a hole in one are 12,500-1 and the odds of bowling a perfect game are 11,500-1, both for amateurs. Which one do you believe is the more impressive accomplishment?!

I've never been close to a 300 game, yet I have had hole-in-ones.

Oh wow...that's a tough one. I consider myself an above average golfer and bowler. I have one hole-in-one and no perfect games. My highest is a 289. If I HAD to choose, I'd say that it's harder to throw a 300 game, and that's simply because when I was an Assistant Golf Pro back in the day at least once a year some 25 handicap would come in excited because he got a hole-in-one and the story behind it was something like "I hit the tree to right of the green on 17 and it kicked around, popped out and went in the hole!" That doesn't happen with a 300 game in bowling.

I am not much of a bowler, but to bowl a perfect game takes skill and lots of practice. A hole in one can be had a variety of ways. I have heard of and seen some hole in ones occur off bladed shots, crazy bounces etc. So while many HIO take skill, you don't have to have great skill to make one just one lucky shot. In bowling you must have a lot of skill to bowl a perfect game maybe one or two lucky trikes in a row, but not 10.

I am going with bowling the 300 game. I know my HIO was purely luck. Aside from the really skilled players I suspect it usually is. But bowling the 300 game requires 12 straight perfect rolls. I think that is harder.