TaylorMade R9 TP Irons - Long Term Review

Craig Mac

Reaction score
This thread will serve as my evaluation of the new TaylorMade R9 TP Irons. It will be in a similar fashion as the review by Harry Longshanks except these are the TP version of the R9's. I was offered this opportunity and very excited to do so. I was fortunate enough to see the pictures of these clubs months ahead of time and was taken to the look of the irons.

I have been playing golf for close to 27 years with several years of breaks in between. In the past when buying new clubs, pretty much any set I bought was an improvement over what I was playing. As my game started to improve I started paying more attention to what equipment I was putting in my bag. The last set I purchased was a several week process of demoing several sets then narrowing it down and demoing some more until I found the set I liked.

Well enough of my backstory.... I'd like to thank TaylorMade for giving me the opportunity to evaluate the new R9 TP Irons. I was selected to test these due to the fact that I am around a 10 handicap and currently leaning towards a "players" iron more than a "game improvement" iron. Not that my game doesn't need improvement it is just I find that GI clubs tend to be more offset which encourages more of a right to left flight for my game and usually have a thicker top line which at address I don't care much for.

Now on to the pics... Ain't they sexy?
irons1.jpg

irons3.jpg

Club head is similar to the regular R9 irons but a little smaller...
irons2.jpg

With virtually no offset
irons5.jpg

KBS Steel Shaft in a Stiff Flex
irons4.jpg

I plan on giving them some range time this weekend and reporting back. In the meantime you can read THP's review of the R9's here as well as THP's Forum thread on the R9's here

Looks good CM. I am looking forward to your thoughts on these as I have thorougly enjoyed Harry's Long Term thread.