Toooo demanding clubs ....

Ger@ld

Reaction score
Handicap
9.7 EGA
I have been playing (semi) blades for at least 30 yrs - I actually still have my Wilson Staff Fluid Feel irons that I bought new about 28 yrs ago and still use them in the practice area to keep my iron play focussed. But on the course I must admit I very much prefer to use a GI set, for me it is a difference between breaking 80 and play some wonderful blade shots and coming home in the mid 80's or even worse .......

Most people carry the nicest equipment in their signatures, but whenever I see midcappers playing musscle blades, I fully understand why, but wonder how much better they would be off playing a "players" GI set .....

Not hoping to step on too many toes .....

It's all about preferences. Handicap isn't solely based on what type irons you play. I've seen my fair share of scratch golfers who are not very strong iron players, but yet they can still get around the course at par or better. Vice versa, I've seen some players who you would think are scratch golfers based on how they hit their irons, but they can't even sniff par because they can't chip and putt.

I know my handicap puts me right in-between GI and semi-players irons, but I really am leaning towards a more GI set for this reason. I work the ball sometimes, but I need the forgiveness more. However, I completely agree with Mulligan in the sense that handicap doesn't determine your equipment.

I don't understand what this post is about :confused2: