Will GPS Speed Up Play?

I have been using a gps for about 2-3 years and It has speeded up my play and my playing partners. I am more confident about my distances and playing to a number when I need to.

I think a good GPS will help you with better club selection hopefully saving you strokes which = time spent on the course. I know when I play with a foursome most of the lag time is spent looking for lost balls in the woods. If I cannot find my ball in approx 2-3 mins then I take a drop...simple. I played behind a group last weekend that had 4 people looking for one guys ball it took about 10 minutes, no joke.

I sweat that much when I play golf....

I think it was pretty cool, I guess it depends on your needs in a gps. Some people like the added features of distance to bunkers or trees. I like the simplicity though

I use my IPhone, the golfshot app. Sometimes it takes an extra minute or so to load the distance but when your with your group it's ready golf. Also alot of the courses I play have the GPS built in the cart which is great. As more people start playing I think slow play is getting more prevalent. I try to get out at first light but when the after 11am tee times happen, I just deal with it. Everyone has to start somewhere and that may be the group in front of you.

I love GPS. Ill look at yardages when im on the teebox waiting just to see how far bunkers are and what not. I can see how it would slow people down but imagine them without a GPS... They'd be walking yardages off. Playing at a good pace doesnt mean sub 4 hr rounds. If you hate slow play then don't go to a course that is notorious for it.

Hilarious vid. If it is used just as a distance meter it speeds things up. The score tracking and ancillary features are a time waster though. 5 minutes isn't that much but the 7 strokes sure is.

A couple of factors are not explained in the video: