Thermal Fuse Bypass

thedue

Another Day in Paradise
Reaction score
Handicap
Our dryer just quit, looks like the Thermo Fuse on the vent. We can't find one locally and not real crazy about going to the laundry mat, anyone have an idea how to bypass that sucker for today?

Thanks for the link, I'll check it out. I doubt they will give me a way to bypass this part because of safety, but worth a try.

I do pretty much any diy around the house but that sounds like something for this guy VVVVV

finger-in-socket-1.jpg

Thermal fuse blowing may be a sign of the heating element being shorted.I wouldn't advise bypassing it.I am a video tech but do some dryer repair also .

Thermal fuse blowing may be a sign of the heating element being shorted.I wouldn't advise bypassing it.I am a video tech but do some dryer repair also .

Oooh, thats not good at all. I'll have to figure out how to check the element before I order this part, thanks for the info.

If you have a multimeter ,you can check from any of the heating element terminals to the metal case,if it is shorted it will read zero ohms and should be replaced with the fuse.If it doesn't you may just have a bad fuse but this is rare.The thermal cutoff will open with overheating due to clogged vent or other such issue,but the thermal fuse usually opens only with a heating element issue.Better to let a qualified service guy look at it.A dryer fire is not a good thing!

If you have a multimeter ,you can check from any of the heating element terminals to the metal case,if it is shorted it will read zero ohms and should be replaced with the fuse.If it doesn't you may just have a bad fuse but this is rare.The thermal cutoff will open with overheating due to clogged vent or other such issue,but the thermal fuse usually opens only with a heating element issue.Better to let a qualified service guy look at it.A dryer fire is not a good thing!