Sales to Teaching (Career Change)

codybwallace

Reaction score
Handicap
Ok guys. Help me out here. You guys are the most diverse group of friends that I have. I would love to hear some thoughts from you and have some discussions about this.

I am completely burnt out on sales. I graduated college in 2006 and have been in sales basically the entire time. I graduated with a major in PR and a minor in Business. I never knew exactly what I wanted to do, but I really wanted to be a teacher in high school. I was just turned off of a teaching career because of the low salary. I make decent money in sales, but nothing extraordinary. With a Master’s degree in Education, I would be earning about 10K less starting out teaching.

My priorities have seriously changed in the last couple of years. I met a girl, started dating, got married and now I have a different outlook on life. I overheard another salesman at a conference last year tell someone that did not want be remembered in life for the amount of products he sold, but that he was a good father to his children. While I do not have children, this made me start thinking about my life. I could care less about selling products. I want to be remembered for helping people, changing lives and being a great person.

My sales job keeps me away from my family more than I would like. My current company offers no retirement benefits. I do not like my career. I am constantly in a poor mood. I do not get but two weeks off a year, and that will never increase based on years of service. I am just burnt out.