New Journey - Triathlon

Xt1ncT-NZ

Englishman in New Zealand
Reaction score
Handicap
My wife and I recently had a trip to Europe which included catching up with family in England and going through Paris to Barcelona and finally a cruise around the Med.

On the cruise we both signed up for boot camp. This was a lot of fun, but rammed home to me how overweight I was. 91kgs for someone who's 5' 10" tall is not good!!

For a while now I've wanted to do some cycling, so when we got back I bought a hybrid - kind of a cross between a mountain bike and a road bike. I was hooked. Two weeks later I bought a road bike. Was even more hooked!!

I started riding each morning, but it still wasn't enough. As a kid I played a lot of football and in the summer I ran - sprinting to be precise - so I have always loved competing and training. Just as I got older I got lazier - familiar story right??

So I decided to enter a triathlon - except I didn't. I entered two.

The first is in December here in Tauranga New Zealand - see www.triseries.co.nz - I've entered an event called Timman and the length is 750 mtr swim, 20km ride and 5.5km run.

For the last 3 weeks I've been following a training plan designed to take me from beginner to sprint length triathlete - albeit still very much a novice.

I've been absolutely loving it. This morning was a strength workout in the gym at the golf club which I am lucky enough to live at.

I also wanted some motivation so have decided to raise money for charity. I've chosen the Neurological Association of NZ.

Why some of you might ask?

Well firstly in 2007 my wife fell down some stairs and used her head as a cushion. Really not a good idea - since the accident she has not been able to work and suffers from post concussion syndrome. She is unable to concentrate fully for more than about an hour to an hour and a half at a time.