Driver & Wedge help

dsimpson

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a newbie to the forum but I've been reading posts for a while and it seems a great place for friendly and advice and tips. On that basis, I wondered if the good people of this forum could help my next golfing equipment dilemma.

I've only been playing for 1-2 years but have been gradly improving. Put together a decent bag of clubs from 2nd hand, ex-demo's and sale clubs etc. however, I feel it may be time to a) change my driver and b) add a wedge.

I've been using a Taylormade Superfast Burner 2.0 Driver but with a HT 13* as it was recommended to me as a good beginner driver to help get the ball up and away! It's been good to me but I have struggled with a slice quite a bit. Would anyone have any recommendation on another driver to help with this slice and/or what kind of degree I should be looking at.

And I'm also just thinking about adding a "proper" wedge to my set, I have a PW (45), AW (51) & SW (56) from my iron set but would it be preferable to get a 60 degree too?

Any thoughts appreciated.
Thanks

First off welcome to THP. For the Driver, the best thing I did was have a driver fitting. It was pretty inexpensive but I was able to find what head/shaft combo worked best for me and my swing. Sometimes our swings go against conventional wisdom and having numbers to back up your decision is always a good thing. As far as the wedge goes, I have enough trouble with my wedges and I always felt like a 60 degree wedge was pretty difficult to hit for me. Is there a reason in particular you want to go with a 60 degree? Looking at your wedges you have now. Maybe bending your 56 degree to 54 and adding a 58 would be a better option. Should help with gapping a bit as well.

Welcome dsimpson.