Which 3 wood for beginner?

Alan

Reaction score
Handicap
Hey guys, I am brand new at this. Pretty athletic, but have never played golf.

I am piecing a set of clubs together and so far I have a combo set of Mizuno jpx hd 800 irons and hybrids, an Odyssey Jailbird putter, and a Callaway International sand wedge.

I need something to hit off the tee with and I have heard it may be better to start off with a fairway wood, rather than a driver.

In your infinite wisdom, could you answer me this: as a beginner using it as my farthest club, should I go with a Cleveland Classic XL 3 wood, or a Callaway Razr X Black 3 wood? Or something else?

Thanks!

Alan

Honestly it's so different depending on how you swing, I would say go and get one fitted for you. I personally really like the cobra amp cell woods, straightest ones I have ever hit.

I've swung the Cleveland a couple of times and really liked it, I shot it a bit straighter than normal which is always a plus. No real experience with that particular Callaway, but I'd encourage hitting both at a Golf Galaxy or Golfsmith just to see how they feel. Count my vote for the Cleveland.

Edit: Or, try out a Taylormade. I love my Taylormade wood and rescue, definitely the longest wood I have hit.

At this point I have no swing. All I have is a business card to call a guy and get lessons.

If he does it for a living, I'd bet he has a few different woods you could try before you pull the trigger.

At this point I have no swing. All I have is a business card to call a guy and get lessons.

Go with something with a thin face like the X Hot from Callaway or even consider a hybrid.

I went to the store with the intention of buying the Cleveland and the sales guy, who played D1 golf told me that the Cleveland was too big and that I might have a tough time with that, topping the ball. He recommended the Callaway. They didn't look that different to me, but I want to try and set myself up for success the best I can.