Low Launch Low Spin Driver/Shaft Combo Help

RStreit27

College Hack
Reaction score
Handicap
Hi everyone,

Been pondering a new driver for a few months now and this weekend I went to the local Golf Galaxy to hit some drivers off the monitor. I currently play a Taylormade Tour Burner 2008 with a stock shift Fujikara shaft and for the current state of my game, the driver is far too high launching and shockingly spinny (we're talking high 3000's up to 4000+ RPM :bulgy-eyes:). I get nowhere near the distance numbers I should (based off my SS/BS) due to the ball often ballooning and spinning out of control. While an inconsistent, sometimes over-the-top swing is partially at fault, I felt like it was time to take a look at some new drivers to see how they performed. While the numbers were slightly better, they were still very high. I was wondering if anyone had any solid, cheaper (I'm a college student so not a large amount of disposable income) shaft/face combos that were renowned for being low spin/low launch? I liked the feel of the 913D3 but have yet to hit other clubs that would seem to suit me well and can be picked up for relatively cheap prices (TEE XCG7 Beta, Callaway RFE, etc).

Here were my numbers from fiddling around at GG:

Swing Speed - 115-122 mph
Ball Speed - 165 mph
Launch Angle - 13*-17*
Spin - 3200 - 3700 (913D3 was the only driver on the lower part of the spectrum.

Any help you all could provide would be greatly appreciated!

Ping Anser with Ahina 70X. Ahina was a stock option and should be had for cheap on eBay.

You're welcome.

No shaft is going to fix the over the top swing. I would work on that first. It's cheaper than a new driver.

The Tee is a good option with the Black Tie. Check out callaway preowned as they have some really good deals, their clubs are in great condition, and they have sorts of shaft options. Harder to find, but one low spin option that I love is the J40 445 or 430 driver.

Hi everyone,