golf course ettiquette

phoul

Reaction score
Handicap
well, i am somewhat new to golf, and id like to respect all the other golfers out there with me, so what are some major do's and dont's out on the course?

Do
be fast.
be quiet.
flatten the sand after you took a shot from the bunker.

Don't
show you're mad.
stand on or walk through shot lines.
shoot other players who do.

I think that should get you pretty far already.

Here are some easy greenside tips:

If everyone is on the green sizing up their putts and you're closest to the pin, you pull the flag.

If you're the first one in your group to hole out, grab the flag and be ready to replace it after everyone else is done.

Try to repair at least one ball-mark per green, even if it's not yours, and especially if it's your home course! Those babies have to last all summer, and most public course groundskeepers could use the help!

Be ready to play when it is your turn. Be gracious about letting others play through. Be quiet when others are getting ready to hit. If your new to the game and are struggling that day be willing to pick up your ball and move on to the next hole instead of holding everything up. Most important HAVE FUN!

And don't forget to leave your cell phone in the car.

-JP

-JP

Sorry, we disagree on that one. A cell phone on silent does not bother anybody and some need it to conduct work or in case of emergencies while out there.

Or on silent. I like to have my phone just in case. You might have to call the clubhouse for some reason.

EDIT: Too slow!

Sorry, we disagree on that one. A cell phone on silent does not bother anybody and some need it to conduct work or in case of emergencies while out there.

I completely agree, I also use my iphone as my gps.

Or on silent. I like to have my phone just in case. You might have to call the clubhouse for some reason.

EDIT: Too slow!

Call the clubhouse?

-JP

Yeah but it's not the ringing that's annoying, it's the conversation.

-JP