How do you reconcile a closed to path club face w/ forward shaft lean (in-out swing)

-CRW-

Reaction score
How do you reconcile a closed to path club face with forward shaft lean while make an in to out/draw swing?

I've been plaqued by a push for a year now. Basically since I started learning how to make an in to out swing. It's most pronounced with my woods and is bad enough that it puts me out of bounds off the tee a lot in a round.

A month or so ago I tried taking the advice of just swing and not over think and that helped some with the tee game. I focused on just making a full swing both back and in the follow through and saw a lot of draws off the tee and occasionally a smaller push. But I started hooking my irons a lot more, and would occasionally hit a big hook off the tee. I would also top the ball more often both with woods and irons.

I had a lesson last night and looked at my swing on film and I'm not hitting pushes because I'm un-hinging too early in the swing which is why I'm hooking some and topping sometimes. So my instructor has me working on getting the club handle in front of the ball at impact and when I do that the face opens and results in pushes. Up to 10 yards with short to mid irons, 20 or so with long irons, and 30+ with woods which would put me back OB on the course.

My swing was also too in-to-out which exaggerates the push. I understand how to fix that by working in front of the mirror or with a line on the ground to keep the club and/or grip pointed at during the swing. But how to I close the face more? Should I be focusing on turning the lead knuckles down more or trying to start my arms down sooner in the swing, or something else entirely.