Best way to clean this rust off irons

Drewsalem

Reaction score
Handicap
I bought these Mizuno mx20’s off ebay a few years back and i love playing them. Description said something about professionally refinishing them (can’t recall the exact phrase). They looked super clean in pics so for $100 I figured why not. I’m no expert, but it seems like maybe they took a very thin layer of metal off somehow, thats my best guess. The groove section which normally has a clear line separating it
From rest of face and a different finish to that section seemed more faint than usual. Not 100% sure tho as I never saw these clubs new.

Anyways, i used iron covers for a while and inadvertently allowed moisture to sit on the heads and it developed this rust. It’s more than just surface rust and seems to only be in certain spots where I’m guessing the finish was removed more. Not all clubs are affected, only 4 or 5. What is the best way to get this off without damaging the club or rest of finish? Once it’s off, if i keep them clean and dry I assume I’ll be able to keep it off, but so far light steel wool and wire wheel aren’t much of a match for it. Any suggestions are appreciated.

Attachments

• IMG_3687.jpeg
    IMG_3687.jpeg
    71 KB · Views: 22
  • IMG_3686.jpeg
    IMG_3686.jpeg
    150.9 KB · Views: 23
  • IMG_3685.jpeg
    IMG_3685.jpeg
    144.8 KB · Views: 24
  • IMG_3689.jpeg
    IMG_3689.jpeg
    136.7 KB · Views: 22
  • IMG_3684.jpeg
    IMG_3684.jpeg
    109.7 KB · Views: 21
  • IMG_3688.jpeg
    IMG_3688.jpeg
    79.1 KB · Views: 22
Coke or CLR bath. Or WD40 spray to start.

Pick up a brass wire wheel that can be chucked in a drill (or drill press). Run it in a slow speed and work the metal against the wire tips. The brass won’t be as abrasive and should take care of surface rust.