Can you "cheat" a Tour Striker club?

TxAggie2018

Reaction score
I have an annoyingly persistent flip in my swing, and I've been unable to break it for a couple years despite practice and lessons. So I purchased a Tour Striker 8 iron off Ebay as a training aid. It's a short iron with everything but the sweet spot rounded off. The theory is, hitting anything but that sweet spot will skull your ball.

Stock image from the internet.

9bf033cce3c5fb8d_original.jpeg

I've been hitting this near exclusively on the range for 2 months and am making progress. But before I groove this sucker too much, I'd like to know. Is it possible to "cheat" this type of training aid, and get good ball flight with a crappy swing? Or do you have to be doing something right to hit it.

Disclaimer - I have been to the Tour Striker Academy and still see Martin Chuck here and there and exchange pleasantries.

That being said I didn't use this training aid while in his 3 day camp but I did see others using it. The big thing that the instructors were giving feedback on were to not forward press to start out. That makes it easier to make good contact but then you train a forward press into your swing. That can lead to hooks.

We don't play golf swing

If the result is acceptable but the swing looks like a collapsing lawn chair, who cares?

We don't play golf swing

If the result is acceptable but the swing looks like a collapsing lawn chair, who cares?

I ask because I've been in this situation once before.

2 years ago, I purchased a chip stick to beat my flip - basically a foot long fiberglass rod extending from the grip of your club. If you flip your club, the stick hits you in the side, and it kind of teaches you through pain.

If a picture is worth 1000 words, an Amazon stock image might be worth 500...

51GKAlE-CcL._AC_.jpg