• It's pretty rare.

Votes: 10 11.4%
  • I launch rough rockets for a living.

Votes: 2 2.3%
  • Not a lot, but they happen.

Votes: 48 54.5%
  • I'm not sure they exist.

Votes: 6 6.8%
  • With the right (wrong) lie I'll end up over the green if I don't account for it.

Votes: 16 18.2%
  • The grass usually slows me down enough to balance out the face-bomb effect.

Votes: 4 4.5%
  • I live in the fairway. We don't get them there.

Votes: 2 2.3%

• Total voters
Maybe wrong club or perfectly pured shot.

the overpure is exactly what i'm talking about. every now and then i'll actually make a high quality swing, instead of my normal serviceable swing. I don't think it's a flier, I think it's just a better-than-average strike.

I use irons that have plenty of spin, so no I don't get fliers.

Dave
Wouldn't that equal more fliers as the drop off on spin would be worse.

I had 215yd shot uphill with a 7 iron today. Does that count. I smoked it but that was waaaaay longer than expected

Wouldn't that equal more fliers as the drop off on spin would be worse.

No, I don't think so. I only have spin rates measured from a Mevo and those are... not that useful so I can't say what my spin is. I can say that I have a flip type swing defect that results in launches higher than ideal. If my shots land on the green on the muni type courses I play they stop.

The concept is that if you have plenty of spin and lose some you probably still have enough for somewhat decent stopping power. If you have marginal spin and lose some you are in trouble.

Dave

I can usually gauge when the ball will jump out of the rough, I will go down a club or two to take it into account. It’s usually only a ten to fifteen yard difference with the grass we have near me.

and so I thought of this thread as I had two significant flyers yesterday (one in each of the two rounds I played).