Help with club fitting and selection

lilbilly

Reaction score
Handicap
This is my first post here - I appreciate everyone who is willing to help out.

A little background info on myself that my be of note: I've been playing golf for around 15 years, and am currently about a 15 hcp. I don't have a ton of time for practice or playing, due to the demands of work, family, money, time, etc... From March to late Sept I will usually play or practice 3-5 times per month. I'm sure if I was able to play and practice more, I could easily drop 5 strokes and be around a 10 hcp. 7 iron is usally around 145-150 carry.

I've typically used standard length (even though I could use .5-1" short) and I just choke down slightly. The charts show that I should have a standard lie (according to height and wrist to floor measurement). I've never had a problem with lie angle until now. I realize I should have gotten fit, however, this is where I'm at now.

I bought some Taylor Made Burner irons a couple years ago and I guess I never noticed before now, but the lie angle is at least 2 degrees too upgright (despite them being longer than standard clubs as well). I've been compensating unknowingly by holding my hands higher up and farther out enough to make the sole flat, and I'm sure that having my hands in a little unnatural position is causing some inaccuracies in my swing.

I had a club maker look at them and he called me the next day saying he couldn't get them to bend at all. Is this normal for these types of clubs to not be able to adjust the lie angle at all? He also says I should cut them down, but he says it will change the swing weight too much if I cut off 1" from the butt of the club. However, there's no point in doing anything to them if they are still going to be too upright.

Anyone have any suggestions?

Welcome to THP