How Do You Hit the Ball Straight?

RecGolfer

Reaction score
Handicap
Do you have one or two go-to techniques that you rely on to hit the ball straight? If so,what are they?

I approach a tee ball thinking hit my normal draw shot, or hit a cutter. Almost never thinking dead straight.

My half hearted cutters tend to go pretty straight. It all starts with a slightly open or slightly closed stance for me.

I wish I could say I have a fool proof method, but my handicap would say otherwise. However, in a really tight situation I can say I try to swing with more emphasis on an inside motion.

Right now, I try to hit a gentle fade. Result: dead straight. :LOL:

My typical ball flight is straight. I might pull it, or push it left or right of my target, but unless the wind is blowing there is little curve to it. I can’t say that there is anything I specifically do, it’s just the swing I’ve been using for 50 years.

Easy. I line up for the fade or draw I have been hitting all day then the ball goes straight left or right. :ROFLMAO:

I think with possible exception of wedges very few players hit it dead straight. It’s possible of course but is not something to strive for if you are being realistic. A baby fade or baby draw can be much more consistent. And besides, actually getting to the target is far more important than how you get there. 😎

Straight is my natural ball flight, though I can hit a cut or a draw on command most days. Fundamentally, at impact you want the path of the club to be straight down the target line with the face square to the target and the clubhead striking the ball on the sweet spot.

How do you do that?