Ladies who launch - come out, come out, wherever you are!

spazzdog

Reaction score
Handicap
Lots
I thought I'd get a topic going for the girls... Not that you guys aren't thoroughly entertaining.

So, who's here that's female (no real names unless you want to), how old are you, where are you ( as general as you are comfortable with), how long have you played, what got you into golf and what other stuff do you enjoy doing?

That'll keep us busy for a sec :D Plus, if anyone is nearby maybe we can play golf sometime. As it stands, I know no women in my area that play.

I'm Gena, 56, live a bit south of Dallas. I've been playing since July 2011 and got into it as an alternative to cycling and running which the older bones have a little more difficulty doing anymore. I play once a week with my bro-in-law and practice 2-3 times a week at the range.

Photography, reading and watching almost any sport is my kind of fun... Then there's finding good restaurants, especially sushi or Mexican ;)

Who's next?

I'm Kathy, live in Los Angeles.
I got started because I was going on vacation to Maui with my sister and another friend. They had already started playing and since they were going to play Kapalua, I wasn't going to just sit there and watch them play. I've been playing for 13 years now.

A good way to meet other women who play golf is to ask about a women's club at the nearby courses. If you're in a big city, there also might be a EWGA(Executive Women's Golf Association) chapter near you. If you work for a large company, they might have a golf club that has once a month outings or so.

Golf, jazz, traveling, good food are some of my interests.

I'm Jenn, live in Mechanicville, NY.