Photo Heavy (Long post) My journey to Morgan Cup: One Length or Not?

oumagic

‘24 NFL Experience at Ballyhack
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
GHIN 11.2
This is a thread that talks about my journey to the Morgan Cup. We do not have club options yet, but my biggest preliminary pondering has been whether I can play One Length. My 2020 goal before MC was announced was to get my handicap to single digits. I want the Cobra clubs and my prep for MC to be the reason why I accomplished my goal and not an excuse as to why I didn’t. The easiest road would be to go with variable length and Speedzone irons because that is closest to my current setup. That said, I have been sitting between 11-14 hcp for 15+ years and maybe it is time to shake things up!?

Brief intro to me and my history with Cobra: I have never played Cobra but in March 2019 I went to my local store to buy F9 OL. The sales rep didn’t think I should, but let me try them and I got some strange numbers with a gap of only 18 carry yards between the 9i and 5i. I ended up walking out with my current set of Callaway clubs, but just couldn’t help but keep thinking how OL made sense to me.

Over the past year, I have still been researching OL. I listened to the Golfunfiltered podcast that issued the OL challenge. I have looked at YouTube reviews, I followed @time4tim journey, and texted @phoffer and my other Arizona THP friends until my fingers bled. It really had me on the brink of jumping in, but as with any set of clubs, I kept hearing “make sure that you get fit!” That is where thing went sideways. Here are a few responses from fitters; one fitter is the one I have used in the past that I really liked.
2A0DC3E0-5EF3-4CF3-AEA8-B4788EFBEA66.png
26B4E5D4-3AA5-46B5-BBDE-77BD0B0BD4A6.jpeg
E5C860E3-2A0F-435E-A961-03FDB78EC2EB.jpeg