Modern iron loft rant

DaveGolfer15

Reaction score
Handicap
8 (WHS)
There's a reason why the 7 iron that the sales rep gave you to hit on the simulator is longer than your old 7 iron. It's because it's a 5 iron with a 7 stamped on it.

The Callaway Mavrik 7 iron for example has 27 degrees of loft!!! 27 degrees on a 7 iron is absolutely outrageous!

1 irons went out of fashion many moons ago; the very mention of a 1 iron is guaranteed to elicit 1 of 2 responses:

1) "I used to have a 1 iron when I started playing in X year. God they were difficult to hit! Especially a bladed one on a cold morning! It used to sting your hands!"
2) You know what Lee Trevino said about 1 irons! "When it starts to thunder and lightening on the golf course I waive my 1 iron in the air. Even God can't hit a 1 iron!"

Funny thing is... a lot of people still carry a 1 iron. It's got a '4' stamped on it now though.

There is a lot more to it than just loft though

Modern day technology and materials means that 'traditional' lofts wouldn't work as balls would launch into orbit

So what loft "should" a modern 7 iron be? Is it just because "that's how things used to be"?

LOL a friend just bought a set of Callaway Epic Forged Star irons. 7 iron is 26 degrees. My Srixon ZX5 7 iron is 31 degrees. 5 degrees difference. his 7 iron is really a 5 iron. ;)

Lets say I agree with you and it is as simple as the are now numbering 5 irons as 7 irons.. Why does the number on the club matter?

There's a reason why the 7 iron that the sales rep gave you to hit on the simulator is longer than your old 7 iron. It's because it's a 5 iron with a 7 stamped on it.

The Callaway Mavrik 7 iron for example has 27 degrees of loft!!! 27 degrees on a 7 iron is absolutely outrageous!

1 irons went out of fashion many moons ago; the very mention of a 1 iron is guaranteed to elicit 1 of 2 responses: