Noobie Vancouverite Golfer checking in and needing alot of advice.

JimmyJiveJones

Reaction score
So i started playing golf in late August of this year. B4 that i would maybe goto the range once a year for a couple years. Thats basically all my golf experience. Ive played a couple executive courses and absolutely fell in love with the game. I "borrowed" my brothers old Wilson ProStaff PT golf set (graphite shafts) and i thought i played pretty well with them. On average i shot around +26. But i had a pretty bad slice problem with my driver and i couldnt fix it (read some reviews and people said the driver is the weakest club in my set), so i decided to buy a Taylormade R9 460 driver. dialed it in 1 degree to help with the slice. i also choke the club 1 inch cause its a 45". Im only 5'8" and its helped alil bit but my slice problem has yet to be fixed. Should i adjust it another degree? Ive watched alot of videos online and basically they say that my club face is open which is causing the slice.

I also have a hard time hitting out of bad rough spots so I bought a set of used Taylormade Superlaunch irons cause i read they were forgiving and get the ball up quick and i "thought" maybe with a steel shaft over graphite, i could hit through that rough better. I played with them for 2 rounds and it made my iron game worse. Even though i was pretty confident using my irons aside from the 3 iron. With the wilsons i take alil bit of grass behind the ball and it gets up pretty good. But with the superlaunch's i skull the ball alot, like the club head doesnt dig into the grass good enough and i barely get it up. i did measure the superlaunches iron head (the base) and it measure 1 1/2 inches. while the wilsons were half that at 3/4 inches. could that be my problem? the guys i played with told me that every golfer is different and the better club or more expensive club is not always better

Anyways thanks for any future advice u guys may give me.