PLEASE HELP ME FIX MY SUPER SHORT BACKSWING

RITZ

Reaction score
Handicap
I have s super short backswing. Today I took a video on my cell phone of my backswing and WOW I did not realize my backswing actually only went about knee high and then wham to the ball. So then I tried to just get my hands to my ear height and also thinking bend my right elbow but really could not do it ball after ball and it is not due to physical issues with my back.I do have some flexibility issue in the torso.

I don't think I have long swing Yips. Practice swings I can do it and it looks great , but can't make a fuller backswing when really hitting the ball. Being self taught for 35 years of golfing no doubt was not good so after a zillion bad swings it is hard to change.

In my new efforts to have a longer backswing just going back 24" more maybe to hip higher with left arm parallel to the ground I had an increase of 5-10 yards hitting my 9 iron 110 yards up from usual 90-100 yards. So I'm thinking if i could get my hands head high my driver carry now at 180yds might see >200 yards carry which would help get 5 woods out of my hands on par 4's. Handicap is 18 as I much too much pressure on my short game to get up and down from 30 yards out and in then 1- 2 putt.

I have tried saying Hundred and One for backswing or "take longer to complete my backswing per Danny Maude You Tube tips /did not work.

Per Nick Faldo, stop backswing when left shoulder touches chin,...did not work for me as I cut it short.

Can anyone offer some suggestions or a good timing device thought to say to myself to help me to complete my backswing?

Thank you,

I'd try to focus on super-supple wrists. You may be limited on your rotation, but if you can just get your left arm another 15-degrees higher and then really let your wrists hinge, that should get you a much fuller backswing.