Tall with long arms....

D.Witt

Reaction score
I've been golfing now for about 5 years. I'm 6'1 and have pretty long arms. I've never been fitted for clubs but everyone tells me I should get fitted for longer than normal clubs. The fact is I feel the opposite, I feel like I need shorter clubs because of my long arms and choking down on the club is far more comfortable and athletic feeling vs gripping at the "normal" hand position. Is this normal ?? Anyone ever heard of long armed golfers geting shorter shafts?

I've been golfing now for about 5 years. I'm 6'1 and have pretty long arms. I've never been fitted for clubs but everyone tells me I should get fitted for longer than normal clubs. The fact is I feel the opposite, I feel like I need shorter clubs because of my long arms and choking down on the club is far more comfortable and athletic feeling vs gripping at the "normal" hand position. Is this normal ?? Anyone ever heard of long armed golfers geting shorter shafts?

This is me. I tend to choke up a lot, and can get good club head speed out of it. As for the fitting, let the pros decide what you need. I imagine any good fitter will listen to you and your preferences and take that into consideration.

I am 5'9 with long legs and a shorter torso - I play 1/2" long irons...

It really varies from person to person and you won't know till you go and get fit...

Sure. And truthfully there is more to it than height and arm length. At the end of the day, comfort is key.

This is me. I tend to choke up a lot, and can get good club head speed out of it. As for the fitting, let the pros decide what you need. I imagine any good fitter will listen to you and your preferences and take that into consideration.

I've found my club head speed and the speed of my hip turn all increased when I choke down on the club. But you're right, when I get fitted I'll trust the fitter with what I've found success in.