The ball “rollback” option...

jpgolf

“JP”
Reaction score
Handicap
Let’s say that the golf ball “rollback” can only be decided in one of these two ways... either 1) the “model local rule” goes into effect - meaning that the pros use a different ball... or, 2) driver heads have to be no larger than 400cc to be “legal”... for everyone - from now on. Which one of these 2 options would you go with...?

Personally... I think I would choose to go with the smaller driver head. I just don’t like the “model local rule” thing. Although... I think the pros would eventually get their distances up to about where they are now.

Option #1.

I am not a professional, so why should I be held to the same standard equipment/ball as a professional. There is 0% chance of me EVER overpowering a golf course, unless it is mini-golf.

I play for fun, and could give two dumps what a governing body thinks I should play.

I dislike the separate rules for different players. I'd vote for the smaller driver head.

I would say driver's have to be 400cc and I would just play an illegal driver. I feel like if they roll back the ball for the pros, we'll all end up having to play it anyway because companies will put all of their r&d into the pro-ball.

The ball for the pros. Why in Earth would I choose the one that negatively impacts me?

My first choice is that they'd butt out and leave it completely alone, but of the two choices I'd prefer the model local rule - but either way I'd play non-conforming equipment if it ever came to the point that it affected me.

Option 1 because making the game harder for amateurs is dumb.

Option 2 because I’m scared to hit driver right now and only using my 3 wood anyway 🥴

Smaller driver head.

I would take up pickleball.

If I HAVE to pick one, I'm taking the smaller driver head.