Boston_golfer

Reaction score
I think I'm in a big time mental rut. I have a swing in scoring like crazy. 3 weeks ago I shot a PB 89, and now my last round I shot a 115. My short game is the same....decent. Everything else is in shambles. Driver, Irons, Hybrids....everything. My practice swings feel great but once I step to the ball I'm topping the ball, pushing it, hitting fat and even.......missing it altogether. My usual playing partner says I look like i did 4 years ago, when I first started getting out semi-regularly. I played 9 today, at an easy local spot in hope of boosting my ego a bit, but it's more of the same...there was a glimmer of hope on a couple PW shots....but overall it was a $hitshow. How do you guys overcome mental blocks?

I'm a super newb so it hasn't happened in Golf yet, but I have various other hobbies where this has happened.

Step away. Put the clubs down, and let it go for awhile. It sounds like you are trying to force yourself to improve and it is having the reverse effect. It also sounds like because you are doing that, you are burning yourself out. That is one approach.

The other approach is take it back to the basics. As I said, I'm a super newb, but when I start hitting poorly, there are a couple of very simple, basic drills I do to get the tempo back starting with very short backswings and short follow throughs. When I start making clean contact again, I lengthen the back swing and the follow through. I also become much more conscience of my stance and holding it throughout the swing.

What would mental toughness do? A swing in shambles doesn't call on mental fortitude to correct it. I think building a repeatable swing will better serve you then trying to gain mental strength.

What would mental toughness do? A swing in shambles doesn't call on mental fortitude to correct it. I think building a repeatable swing will better serve you then trying to gain mental strength.